Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in New York

Driver's age: 26-65
Mon 7/29
Mon 8/5
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in New York

Economy car
Economy
M
Compact car
Compact
M
Intermediate car
Intermediate
M
Standard car
Standard
M
Full-size car
Full-size
M
Luxury car
Luxury
M
Minivan car
Minivan
M
Passenger van car
Passenger van
M
Commercial car
Commercial
M
Pickup Truck car
Pickup Truck
M

Reviews for Avis in New York

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating7.0 GoodBased on 300 reviews
Cleanliness
7.5
Comfort
7.4
Overall
7.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.9
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
42
14
0
7
0
0
39
2.0
I was not told ahead of time they would be running a credit check and I was not allowed to rent a car because I do not have the best credit. This has never happened to me with the many other rental companies I’ve used. I will never use Avis again. I was embarrassed in front of a room full of people, and my trips plans weee ruined. Never ever again.Reviewed Jul 16 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Avis did not honour the prepayment voucher. I had to pay their rate, which was double what I had prepaid, and the value that I paid was applied against the full walk up cost of the rental. I am spending a long time trying to get this rectified. And there was a 30min wait in line before I was served. The car was good, comfortable and clean, and had a full tank. However, the car is factory fitted with SatNav when I tried to use it, it said that this was a subscription service. It was disabled as I did not add it as an extra.Reviewed Jun 20 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Everyonevwas attentive and highly professionalReviewed May 14 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
Great location, quick service at pickup and drop off. BEWARE when picking up your car @ Avis - my car, though new, had a lot of scratches- upon dropping off the Stuart tried to charge me for one which was not ticked off (and was disappointed when he learned I had the full insurance and videotaped the car when picked up)Reviewed Apr 23 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Long wait time of over 30 minutes at the JFK Federal circle for car to get ready n handed over to me. Secondly there was no windshield washer in the vehicle. Not a pleasant experience.Reviewed Feb 15 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I received a damage report for damage that I was not responsible for. The customer service rep rushed off the phone and transferred me after I asked her not to. Horrendous experience and I won't be using Avis again.Reviewed Dec 29 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
The customer service was excellent, the line moved quickly, and they considered what I wanted in giving me a carReviewed Dec 27 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Everything was good except the vehicle. The Bluetooth/wireless connection did not work and it was crucial for me to have these functions because I was traveling to another state and needed directions. 😤Reviewed Dec 4 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
When I booked it it was $80 then I found out they charged me $280Reviewed Dec 4 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
The service at JFK getting the car was good. I picked the car up around 9:30 PM & had a 90 drive to my house. As I left the parking lot of AVIS at JFK & got on the parkway heading north to my home I noticed that there wasn't a FULL TANK OF GAS in the car. I had less than ¼ Tank of gas in the AVIS Rental Car. I then had to try to find a gas station that was opened after 10 PM. The WARNING LIGHT came on the dash board letting me know that I would probably run out of gas before I arrived to my home. I luckily found a gas station that was opened off the parkway & put more gas in the car then I originally got at the JFK AVIS location. This should never have happened. I should have had a FULL TANK of GAS when I left the AVIS location at JFK & I should be reimbursed for this rental or my next one on Nov. 20th at Westchester (White Plains).Reservation # 23531515USOReviewed Oct 18 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
We had to wait over two and a half hours (in an un-air-conditioned building on a very hot day) to get our car. I would have thought that maybe this was an unusually busy day or something, but there was no acknowledgment from the staff that this experience was out of the ordinary. We rented from them again a couple weeks later, since we had already made the booking and didn’t have time to change it. There was still no air conditioning in the building, but at least there was no line this time. Even so, we still had to wait 45 minutes before we got our car. It is not clear to me why it took so long. We won’t rent a car from them again if we can avoid it…we’d rather pay a bit more money and see if one of the other companies has more reasonable waiting times (or at least air conditioning if we have to wait for a long time).Reviewed Aug 27 2023
review frommomondo-kyk-wl
10.0
I was surprised and happy how streamlined pick up and drop off were. Five minutes to pick up and one minute to drop off.Reviewed Oct 13 2022
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in New York?

Address

225 East 43rd Street

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 212 682 1860

Address

310 East 64th Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 212 593 8363

Address

515 West 43rd Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 646 473 0088

Address

Building #305 Federal Circle

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 718 244 5400

Address

153 West 54th Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 212 593 8470

Address

220 West 31st Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 646 733 5995

Address

68 East 11th Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:00

Phone

+1 212 593 8397

Address

216 West 76th Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:00

Phone

+1 212 595 0358

Address

808 Columbus Ave

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 212 666 3593

Address

4545 Center Boulevard

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 347 448 8670

Address

540 Park Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:30
Tuesday07:30 - 18:30
Wednesday07:30 - 18:30
Thursday07:30 - 18:30
Friday07:30 - 18:30
Saturday08:30 - 14:30
Sunday08:30 - 14:30

Phone

+1 212 593 8363

Address

240 East 92nd Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 212 444 7276

Address

120 Warren Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:00

Phone

+1 917 591 9977

Good to know

Most popular location

Building #305 Federal Circle

Most popular car type

Mini

Average price

₱9,708/day

Good deal

₱6,580/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in New York

  • Avis is renowned for offering a diverse range of benefits and amenities to its clients. A representative will always be there to assist you with any needs you might have because the corporation is committed to delivering courteous customer service. As a bonus, the company usually offers discounts to their returning clients.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in New York, you have a selection of car types to choose from, some of which may be suitable for the area. For instance, you could wish to rent a convertible such as the high performance Ford Mustang Convertible and take advantage of the warm climate in New York. As a practical alternative for transporting bags or anything else you might have bought on a shopping spree in New York, an SUV like the Chevy Tahoe is an excellent choice.
  • If you want to opt for prepaid Avis car rentals in New York, always remember that you can cancel your reservation without incurring any fees. You can change or cancel your booking such as by increasing the rent duration through the Avis website or through calling the agency directly via the customer care number.
  • If you want to book Avis car rentals in New York because you are looking forward to driving yourself while in New York, you will find the car rentals at New York John F Kennedy International Airport and LGA. Although they don't have a counter at the airport, Avis does provide a complimentary shuttle from JFK and LGA. Additionally, the Avis JFK and LGA site offers pickups and drop-offs, allowing you to return your rental car at the airport before flying out for your return flight. The shuttle operates at the airport every 10min.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in New York for ₱6,580 or less.
  • Mini rental cars from Avis in New York are around -3% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in New York

  • What are the different amenities offered by Avis car rentals in New York?

    The most crucial reason to book Avis car rentals in New York is the amenities that these car rentals offer. For a better experience, you can add accessories to your vehicle. If you're renting a car to tour the Rocky Mountains, for instance, you'll need winter tires or snow chains, both of which are offered by Enterprise. GPS navigational solutions are available for people who want to drive like locals. Child seats are available with rental cars, which is great for parents and suitable for parents traveling with minors.

  • What is the best pickup location for Avis car rentals in New York?

    New York John F Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and LaGuardia Airport (LGA) are the ideal places to pick up an Avis car rental in New York. Picking up your rental car at the airport has numerous advantages. First, the company offers a free shuttle service that runs every 10 to 15min from JFK and LGA to their lot. Second, you can reserve a rental car online and pick it up when you get there. The availability of a large selection of vehicles, including exotics, sedans, SUVs, pickup trucks, and small cars, is another advantage for you to pick up your Avis car rental at the airport.

  • What accessible services are available for Avis car rentals in New York?

    There are many options available to you if you're a person with limited mobility who wants to book Avis car rentals in New York. To begin with, Avis offers adaptive driving aids to clients who have hidden disabilities. These include free-of-charge left foot accelerators, spinning knobs, pedal extenders, and hand controllers. If you are a handicapped driver without a driver's license but still want to rent with Avis, you can get a caregiver driver who complies with all the requirements for renters at no extra cost. Service animals are welcome in Avis rental cars and are not required to be crated.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in New York?

    On average a rental car from Avis in New York costs ₱9,708 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in New York?

    Mini (Chrysler Pacifica or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in New York.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in New York?

    Avis has 13 rental locations in New York. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    No (According to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    Yes