Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in Santo Domingo

Driver's age: 26-65
Wed 7/31
Wed 8/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Santo Domingo

Economy car
Economy
M
Compact car
Compact
M
Intermediate car
Intermediate
M
Standard car
Standard
M
Full-size car
Full-size
M
Luxury car
Luxury
M
Minivan car
Minivan
M
Passenger van car
Passenger van
M
Commercial car
Commercial
M
Pickup Truck car
Pickup Truck
M

Reviews for Avis in Santo Domingo

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating5.4 FairBased on 30 reviews
Cleanliness
6.1
Comfort
5.7
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.5
Value for money
5.3

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
3
3
0
3
0
0
9
2.0
WORST RENTAL EXPERIENCE. Our flight was delayed and we arrived a few hours later than the pickup time at the AVIS counter at the airport. They just CANCELLED our reservation and offered us another car for three times the original price that was written in our contract. They had all our flight informations and were supposed to know about potential delays but they just ‘didn't check’… We had to rent another car, last minute, with another company for 50% more money and got a small city car instead of a (much needed for our trip) SUV. Again, WORST RENTAL EXPERIENCE!Reviewed Jan 23 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Very irresponsible. Upon arrival to Avis, vehicle was not available. As simple as thatReviewed Jan 10 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
This is the last time! Old man of your company was not fiabel!Reviewed Jan 6 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
The car was fine but there’s no reason to sell insurance that they don’t take.Reviewed Nov 24 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:nothingCons:They force you to pay more than the price booked, contrary to sixt car rental who keep the price. They charge un DOP but i Receive a receipt in USD. all wrongReviewed Mar 30 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:No car!Reviewed Mar 13 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:I reserved 2 months in advance via Kayak and called to confirm the reservation 3 days prior to my arrival, yet at the time I arrived they did not have my vehicle available. I reserved an SUV and they were offering me a compact car instead. In the end, I had to take another SUV for more that twice the price in my reservation. The pickup process took extremely long. In my case 1 hour and 20 minutes.Reviewed Jan 4 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Sub-par car and extortionate insurance policiesPros:Functional SUV in a country where even the main roads can be sketchy, friendly and reasonably professional service.Cons:SUV felt poorly maintained, with sloppy steering, a glitchy transmission and numerous dings and small broken parts that we didn’t discover until on the road (a broken windshield wiper for example). The worst part was that my online quoted $360 weekly rate ballooned to over $1300 when all the local BS nickel & dime fees were factored in (including mandatory insurance when I was told on arrival that my third party Allianz policy which I’d already paid for was not valid in the Dominican Republic, even though I’ve used that company everywhere from Tanzania to Thailand). It’s very hard to maintain a rental fleet on a Caribbean island with limited resources - I get that. However, I felt like I was hustled/extorted, and should’ve been informed in advance that I had to buy ‘local’ insurance in order to drive my car away. Shame on Avis.Reviewed Jan 6 2019
review fromkayak
5.6
The car wasn’t on its best conditionsCons:It had a strange smell inside, it had a plastic piece that flew off while we where driving, the suspension had some issuesReviewed Sep 3 2018
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Very professional, very close to the airport, easy to get the car, easy to drop it off.Cons:The car had two issues. One of the tires lost a lot of air and also the battery suddenly died, had to open the hood and move the battery cables, then it worked (happened twice).Reviewed Aug 29 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:He hard sell and lying that all rental companies do to rip off people with the CWD...Reviewed Apr 4 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing!Cons:I ended up with no vehicle and had to cancel the reservation. This is very typical (and chronic) of the Dominican Republic; I show up late a night with my family to find that they want to squeeze us into a car that barely fits 5 people (we are 6). This is not the car I had selected and was willing to pay for (my reservation indicated that it was for a vehicle that can sit 7 people + 3 pieces of luggage). Understanding that this happens all the time, I proactively started calling AVIS in DR a week in advance to avoid surprises. I was suggested to call the date of (again) in order to confirm that we were indeed traveling that date, and to guarantee that the correct vehicle would be there for us. I called the date of the flight, assured the care was already there, and still got a compact car with the excuse that there was no availability. I ended up taking a taxi at 2 AM out of the airport with my whole family (we just don't fit in a compact car!). I was not offer a discounted rate for the crappy/inferior piece of junk they were offering us. In addition, the staff is never helpful, and become rude and belligerent when one tries to indicate that they dropped the ball and all they offer you is to cancel the reservation (obviously for one to deal with the mess of being stuck at the airport). They are so incompetent! By the way, please note 1- I am Dominican, and 2- It happens with all major multinational car rental companies (not just AVIS) in DR, 3- They do try to coerce you into accepting bogus additional services and fee, threatening you that it is mandatory in DR, and holding you and your family hostage. So goddamn frustrating to start one's vacation (repeatedly) on a bad note because, notwithstanding one's best efforts and willingness to pay, one cannot get the vehicle that one needs and reserves, and have to waste one's vacation dates dealing with these type of issues. Such an unpleasant experience (again and again!). Thank you for your time and help.Reviewed Feb 26 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Santo Domingo?

Address

Ruta 66, Boca Chica

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 809 549 0468

Address

George Washington Ave #517

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 535 7191

Address

Av Romulo Betancourt

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 287 8049

Address

J.F, Kennedy Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 544 1573

Address

Av Francisco A Caamano Deno

Hours

Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 535 7191

Good to know

Most popular location

Ruta 66, Boca Chica

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Santo Domingo

  • Economy rental cars from Avis in Santo Domingo are around 66% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Santo Domingo

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Santo Domingo?

    Economy (Volkswagen Gol or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Santo Domingo.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Santo Domingo?

    Avis has 5 rental locations in Santo Domingo. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Las Americas airport (SDQ)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Las Americas airport (SDQ)?

    Yes