Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in San Francisco

Driver's age: 26-65
Wed 7/24
Wed 7/31
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in San Francisco

Economy₱2,631/day
Compact₱2,837/day
Intermediate₱2,991/day
Standard₱3,161/day
Full-size₱3,327/day
Full-size SUV₱6,063/day
Premium₱3,551/day
Luxury₱4,544/day
Intermediate SUV₱3,951/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in San Francisco

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating6.8 OkayBased on 120 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.8
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
13
3
0
2
0
0
20
10.0
The clerk was very helpful with the whole process.Reviewed Jul 7 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
We were misled into taking an EV even though we had booked a gasoline car. And this is inspite of them knowing we would be traveling from SF to LA as car drop was at LA. We also pointed out our route including Yosemite. They told us we needn't worry as the car goes from 0-80% charging in 15 min on a fast charger. We struggled across the 7 days as charging was slow and the range on full charge was only 140 miles on the Subaru. Very unethical and misleading team at this branch.Reviewed Jun 1 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Very efficient at the counter and in bringing up the car.Reviewed Jan 7 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
oReviewed Oct 29 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
The company we used was Budget which is an affiliate of Avis. I guess the name Budget is exactly what you get. I ordered a Ford Transit van for a two week road trip. Instead, we got an old 15 passenger bench seat van. In this van we found d beer, wine, antifreeze, kids books, food wrappers and crumbs, and several interior tips and broken pieces. I called to request an exchange for safety and while accommodating I had to take time out of my vacation to drive an hour away to exchange the van because they would not do it at the location one mile from me. So, we exchanged the van only to be put into a van that we actually did request but with a broken windshield with broken glass on the dashboard and a gas leak. I called, AGAIN, and asked for an exchange and demanded they bring me the new van and take the broken one. They initially asked me to drive, the broken van, two hours away in order to return it. That was out of the question. In the end, they brought me the third van which lasted the rest of the trip and was exactly what we needed. It should not have taken me three vans to get it right - countless phone calls and time on hold, not to mention awful and rude customer service to rent a van. I’d also like to me til , the rate that I locked in on my original rental would not longer be offered or accepted because I needed an exchange, TWICE, due to unsafe and dangerous vehicles they initially put me in; with each exchange came additional fees and a high price. I will NEVER use budget, Avis, or any of their affiliates again.Reviewed Oct 13 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Waited for two hours to get the car! Their system is slow, their service is not optimal nor friendly! Just bad experience for a lot of money! Will not use them again.Reviewed Oct 6 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing.Cons:The location was closed when I got there. How was I able to make a reservation at 5pm when the place closes at 5pm? On top of that, I got there at 4:50 p.m and the location was closed. I attempted to go to the airport Avis location and swap my reservation there but the rate was 3x more expensive and the reservation non transferable. Ended up not getting a car and had to cancel all my plans for the weeeknd. On top of all of this, Avis is now charging me a no show fee.Reviewed Apr 5 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:Couldn't even pick up my carReviewed Mar 22 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff at the pickup was very friendly and helpful.Cons:I was unable to find the return location, tried calling and no answer. Ended up being late by 20 min and getting charged for a whole extra day. The drop off process was pretty bad.Reviewed Mar 18 2021
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Very cleanCons:Pickup, the store we went to was very confused about our rental and the car had some flapping underneathReviewed Nov 13 2020
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:They didn't have a small-sized car that I originally requested, and first gave me a large Ford sedan that was very loud (the moment you turn it on, it makes a VROOM noise without accelerating), and when I requested a different car they said they only had a large SUV, so I ended up taking that which was very uncomfortable to drive.Reviewed Aug 25 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Staff was friendlyCons:The car interior didn't seem cleanReviewed Aug 15 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in San Francisco?

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

675 Post Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 17:00
Sunday07:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 929 2555

Address

500 Beach Street, Suite 120

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 441 4141

Address

333 O'farrell Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 292 4045

Address

821 Howard Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 227 4227

Address

5 Embarcadero Center

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 395 4758

Good to know

Most popular location

780 Mcdonnell Road

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

₱8,433/day

Good deal

₱4,713/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • Book Avis car hire in San Francisco and see one of the most culturally-diverse and lively parts of the US from the comfort of your own vehicle. With iconic attractions such the Golden Gate Bridge, the famous Fisherman’s Wharf, Alcatraz Prison and the redwood forests, San Francisco really does have something for everyone. Marvel at the streets lined with art murals, the incredible marine life at the Embarcadero’s Aquarium of the Bay and the thriving nightlife for all sub-cultural preferences. Culinary diversity is a prominent attraction of SanFran, with North Beach boasting great Italian food, Castro being known for Mexican gastronomy and Chinatown offering authentic cuisine. San Francisco is also the gateway to the rest of California, where the winelands offer great tours and road-tripping opportunities.
  • You will be spoilt for location choice when you book Avis car hire in San Francisco as the city has 6 branches to choose from. The prominent branch is based at San Francisco International Airport, 30min from downtown. They are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can easily be located via the Blue Line Train at the airport. If you are staying in the Hyatt Regency or the Hilton Hotel you will find branches at both locations. Alternatively, there are also branches on Post Street, Howards Street and Beach Street. Downtown branches tend to close at 5:00 pm during the week and 1:00 pm on weekends. If you are planning a road trip, make sure you let your agent know if you will need one-way rental.
  • Stay safe on the San Francisco roads when enjoying longer driving trips and book some additional extras beforehand on KAYAK. Consider an age-appropriate car seat for your infant or toddler, as is the law in the US, and include a GPS navigation kit on your rental agreement to stay on track. When you book Avis car hire in San Francisco, your car will come filled with fuel. Make sure you fill up before you return it as the fuel prices from an agent for used fuel will be higher than that from a petrol station.
  • A great perk from Avis is the free additional driver policy, which adds an extra layer of fun and convenience to longer road trips. They will need to be of appropriate age and have the right licence for the state. Ensure they are present at the collection point to show their documentation alongside the primary renter. Avis will also provide an automatic e-Toll service, which will calculate the tolls on highways as you pass them and add them to your bill.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in San Francisco for ₱4,713 or less.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in San Francisco at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Economy rental cars from Avis in San Francisco are around 66% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • What exclusive cars does Avis in San Francisco offer?

    If looking for that little bit of extra luxury when renting a car from Avis in San Francisco, you have chosen the right city. With pristine coast lines and immaculate roads to enjoy, the driving pleasure of a premium motor will be well worth it. Look at vehicles from the Avis Signature Series which luckily is available at the San Francisco branches. Be aware that these vehicles are only available for over 25 years of age.

  • Can I pay for my car hire by other methods than credit card at Avis in San Francisco?

    Avis in San Francisco will accept debit cards as well as credit cards when paying for car hire in the city. The primary renter’s name will need to feature on the card being used as there will be no third-party payment accepted.

  • Where can I park my Avis car hire in San Francisco?

    San Francisco has a multitude of parking options, from metered parking to free parking on streets and of course, multi-storey car parks too. It will be easy to find somewhere to leave your rental safely in this great metropolis, but car parks such as EZ Public Parking, Sutter Stockton Garage, Moscone Center Garage and Fisherman’s Wharf Parking are popular choices.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in San Francisco?

    On average a rental car from Avis in San Francisco costs ₱8,433 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in San Francisco?

    Economy (Toyota Yaris or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in San Francisco.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in San Francisco?

    Avis has 6 rental locations in San Francisco. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: San Francisco airport (SFO)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from San Francisco airport (SFO)?

    Yes