Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in New Orleans

Driver's age: 26-65
Sat 7/20
Sat 7/27
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in New Orleans

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
Minivan
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pickup Truck

Reviews for Avis in New Orleans

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating5.1 FairBased on 47 reviews
Cleanliness
6.2
Comfort
6.3
Overall
5.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.0
Value for money
5.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
2
1
0
2
0
0
13
2.0
I reserved a 13 passenger van a December 7, 3034to be picked Jan 7, 2024. Only to receive a text message Jan 7, 2024, at 7:44 am that the system was overbooked and couldn't accommodate my reservation. I called Avis customer service number was told they had the vehicle at the airport location. I got to the airport only to be told they didn't have a 13 passenger van. Why have a system that you can't keep track of amount of reservation vehicles and locations.Reviewed Jan 9 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
We could not pick up any car. They said they didn’t have any car available for days. So, why did Kayak send me a confirmation email?Reviewed Dec 8 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
I had problem with my card as it was an international credit card there where problem with the charge. The customer service agent at pickup was not very Professional. When i deliverd the car the agent helping me told me that they had a new card terminal and that she was awere of the problem with international cards. the agent giving me service whaen pickup was not professional.Reviewed Dec 1 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Was perfectReviewed Nov 14 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
They didn't have cars available. Canceled the reservation.Reviewed Oct 8 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Literally nothing.Cons:Everything. The guy was an hour and a half late then just said, “Oh well you shouldn’t have been able to book it earlier.” No apology, no discount... It ruined our whole day because we were two hours late after he had to drive us to another location because the one I reserved the car at apparently only had a 12-passenger van he kept trying to get us to take. There were three of us! We didn’t want the damn van.Reviewed Apr 4 2021
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:Car was not ready. Expected wait was 45 minutes.Cons:Car should have been ready. Avis should have texted or called to let us know they were short of cars.Reviewed Dec 30 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Picking up and dropping off were easy.Cons:They charged me $40 more than on the original contract. There is no reason given on the receipt.Reviewed Jul 29 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was GREAT!Cons:I did not know a Sentra was a midsize carReviewed Jul 16 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Fadt checkoutCons:Hours are limited so you cant drop off earlier than 8 am or later than 6 pm.Reviewed Feb 23 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:ServiceCons:Size of carReviewed Oct 7 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The representatives were friendly.Cons:They did not have a booster seat for my 6 year old daughter. We called 3 in the area and none if them had one, so we ended up at Wal-Mart and bought a seat ourselves.Reviewed Aug 5 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in New Orleans?

Address

1317 Canal Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 504 523 4318

Address

2 Poydras Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 504 581 6901

Address

300 Poydras Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 504 581 6901

Address

2 Canal Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 504 581 6901

Good to know

Most popular location

1317 Canal Street

Most popular car type

Full-size

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in New Orleans

  • With all the different classes of Avis car rentals in New Orleans, you’ll be sure to find one to suit your needs and preferences. Navigating the city streets is best done in a compact car or sedan. If you are planning to head out to explore the state or enjoy road trips along the coast, consider a spacious sedan or SUV. If you're traveling with a group or family, a minivan will give you the space needed for passengers and luggage.
  • Avis offers the flexibility of one-way rentals, allowing you to tailor your journey. With numerous Avis locations across the U.S., planning an interstate road trip is effortless. Most Avis vehicles come with unlimited mileage, and many branches waive one-way drop-off fees, making it a cheaper option compared to other rental companies. Embrace the benefits of flexibility, savings, and the freedom of unlimited mileage for your one-way adventure.
  • For extended car rentals, the Avis Flex program provides a flexible, affordable, and convenient solution for monthly rentals. You can enjoy competitive rates that go down the longer the duration, all without the requirement of a long-term commitment. Additionally, you can access discounted Loss Damage Waiver (LDW) rates on monthly rentals and have the flexibility to switch vehicles during your rental period.
  • Renting an electric vehicle (EV) from Avis in New Orleans is a smart choice for eco-conscious travelers. These cars produce zero emissions, reducing your carbon footprint, and contributing to a cleaner environment. Avis provides all EVs with at least a 70% charge and expects that it is returned at the same level. Keep in mind that the range may vary based on several factors, so plan accordingly.
  • Full-size rental cars from Avis in New Orleans are around -91% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in New Orleans

  • Where are the best pickup locations for Avis car rentals in New Orleans?

    If you are flying into town, then the rental location at New Orleans International Airport (MSY) is the most convenient choice. The Avis desk is located in the Consolidated Rental Car Facility in the southern terminal, which you can get to with the free shuttle. Follow signs for the rental car bus stop and board the shuttle. It typically takes around 20 to 30 minutes to reach the facility. The downtown location on Canal Street is a good choice if you intend to stay in the city. Rates tend to be lower at the off-airport locations.

  • What different car rental amenities are offered at Avis in New Orleans?

    Avis offers various amenities to make your rental more convenient and enjoyable. GPS navigation systems and roadside assistance take the stress and worry out of driving in a new place. They give you the ability to add additional drivers to the reservation, so you can split driving responsibilities and enjoy being a passenger. Avis also offers one-way rental options, allowing you to return your vehicle to a different location. For long-term renters, the Avis Flex program offers competitive rates, a range of vehicle options, and flexibility, so you can have a seamless and comfortable rental experience in New Orleans.

  • Where are the best places to park Avis car rentals in New Orleans?

    The best places to park in New Orleans depend on where you’re staying and what you want to explore. In the French Quarter, consider parking garages like the Premium Parking locations for convenience. The Central Business District has various garages, and the Riverwalk offers a convenient option near the Convention Center. If you’re exploring the Garden District, Magazine Street offers street parking. In the Warehouse District, the Julia Street Cruise Terminal garage is a good choice. On-street parking may be available, but be mindful of time restrictions and meters posted around the parking areas.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in New Orleans?

    Full-size (Toyota Camry or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in New Orleans.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in New Orleans?

    Avis has 4 rental locations in New Orleans. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Louis Armstrong airport (MSY)?

    No (According to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Louis Armstrong airport (MSY)?

    Yes