Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in Anchorage

Driver's age: 26-65
Sat 7/20
Sat 7/27
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Anchorage

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
Minivan
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pickup Truck

Reviews for Avis in Anchorage

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating7.8 GoodBased on 315 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
8.0
Overall
7.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.8
Value for money
7.3

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
35
18
6
4
4
0
15
10.0
The rear passenger tire had a slow leak and we were continually stopping for air-called Avis Customer Service and we got an exchange with upgrade with no problem at all!!! It was simple and we lost no time on our journey!Reviewed Jul 6 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
They didn’t have the truck I rented BUT ended up with a brand new Tacoma TRD which everyone knows is a massive upgrade to a Canyon.Reviewed Jun 24 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
The rental process went very well. I had booked the car ‘way back’ in Nov 223. I liked the reminders as the usage week happened in mid-Jun 2024. Location in the airport also proved excellent.Reviewed Jun 24 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
We got a sparkling new Honda CRV with CarPlay. Everything was delivered as promised in a quick, polite manner.Reviewed May 28 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Good I did an upgrade because the car that they were going to give me would not have handled the snow very well.Reviewed Dec 17 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Did not get the car after all and they were great at canceling itReviewed Nov 29 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Easy pick up and return.Cons:Avis cars had decals in back window identifying them as rental. In Anchorage, police target rental cars for tickets knowing that most are out of state and can not afford the time or money to return to contest the alleged violation. Easy money and they set up traps. I was given a ticket for running a stop light. Police had spotter (they said) but I was stopped several blocks down the road. Heavy traffic, stop and go, etc... On returning the rental, I talked to two other renters who also got tickets. Easy money for the city. I also saw a drug deal in a hotel parking lot. No police around. Guess they were looking for traffic 'violators' in rental cars. First and last visit to Alaska and these are the two most memorable moments.Reviewed May 24 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Friendly staff. Dropoff was easy.Reviewed May 18 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Pick up and drop off were both quick and easy... vehicle was nice and very comfortableCons:Vehicle smelled as if it had previously been smoked inReviewed May 12 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Car had 2 window breaks, dents, didn't use AVIS AppReviewed May 10 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was very kind and professional.Cons:Supply and demand would dictate lower prices.Reviewed May 9 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:Nothing, got a great functional car for cheap!!Reviewed May 9 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Anchorage?

Address

5000 West Intl Airport Road

Hours

Monday05:30 - 23:5900:00 - 02:30
Tuesday05:30 - 23:5900:00 - 02:30
Wednesday05:30 - 23:5900:00 - 02:30
Thursday00:00 - 02:3005:30 - 23:59
Friday05:30 - 23:5900:00 - 02:30
Saturday00:00 - 02:3005:30 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 02:3005:30 - 23:59

Phone

+1 907 243 2377

Address

441 B Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 907 277 4567

Good to know

Most popular location

5000 West Intl Airport Road

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Anchorage

  • When choosing to book Avis car rentals in Anchorage, it is important to select the proper type of vehicle for your trip's needs. Alaska's unpredictable weather and rugged terrain make 4WD or AWD SUVs popular choices, especially if you intend to explore the state's scenic byways, national parks, and mountainous areas. If you plan to engage in outdoor activities like camping, fishing, or hauling equipment, a truck or pickup can be convenient for carrying your gear.
  • Avis offers a loyalty program called Avis Preferred that provides several perks and benefits for those who book Avis car rentals in Anchorage. Avis Preferred members often enjoy expedited rental check-in and check-out processes, reducing wait times at the rental counter. Some Avis locations offer the Avis Preferred Select & Go service, which allows members to choose their own vehicle without visiting the rental counter. Members can earn Avis Preferred Points for each qualifying rental, which can be redeemed for free rental days, upgrades, or other rewards.
  • Renting a car in Anchorage during the winter requires careful consideration. When you book Avis car rentals in Anchorage, confirm that the rental car is equipped with features suitable for cold weather, such as a block heater to keep the engine warm and ensure it starts in extremely cold temperatures. If you plan to drive on icy or snow-covered roads, check if Avis provides or allows the use of snow chains, which can provide added traction.
  • You can typically take an Avis rental car from Anchorage into Canada. Check if you need a visa or if there are any specific entry requirements for traveling from the United States to Canada. Be prepared to use Canadian currency, as you will need it for expenses like fuel, tolls, and purchases while in Canada. Confirm with Avis that you are allowed to return the rental car in Canada or another location if you don't plan to return it to the original rental office in Anchorage. Be aware that drop-off fees may apply for one-way rentals.
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis in Anchorage are around -9% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Anchorage

  • Where are some places to get an Avis rental in Anchorage?

    Travelers have a couple of options for where they can pick up their Avis rental car in Anchorage. When you plan on arriving in the area by air, your best location will be at the Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport (ANC), especially because the airport has such a close location to the downtown area. If you are already in Anchorage and do not want to make your way back to the airport, a good choice will be the 441 B St. location, right in the center of downtown Anchorage.

  •  What are some of the benefits of booking Avis car rentals in Anchorage?

    Avis rental offices provide customer service and assistance to help with your reservations, rental inquiries, and any potential concerns that might emerge while you have the rental. Avis also offers supplementary services like GPS rentals, child safety seats, and roadside assistance to improve the convenience and safety of your journey. If you require an extended rental, Avis provides options that can be beneficial for business travelers, individuals in the process of relocating, or those seeking long-term transportation solutions.

  • Where should I plan on parking my Avis rental car in Anchorage?

    Anchorage has several municipal parking garages in the downtown area. These garages are convenient for city exploration and are typically open for public parking. The cost is usually about $1.25 for one hour of parking here. On-street parking is available in many areas of Anchorage, especially in the downtown district. Pay attention to parking meters, time limits, and any parking permits required. These spaces cost about $1.75 for two hours of parking.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Anchorage?

    Intermediate (Toyota RAV4 or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Anchorage.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Anchorage?

    Avis has 2 rental locations in Anchorage. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Anchorage airport (ANC)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Anchorage airport (ANC)?

    Yes